In a Funk

I’ve just been in a funk lately. A big one. And I don’t know why.

I love my job. It has been almost a year since I left TV news behind and I don’t regret that decision. At all. Working in a nonprofit that’s changing lives every single day is so fulfilling. Each day I go to work, I see the difference that I’m helping to make in someone’s life. Whenever a client shares their story, the transformation is unbelievable. Looking at the person they are today, I can’t even imagine them when they were in their addiction.

Scratch that. I know one thing that’s got me in a funk. Finances. I took a pay cut to take my job and while it has been worth it in other respects (physical and mental health, a huge reduction in stress, etc.), I’m struggling. Every time I think I get it figured out, I find out that I really don’t. My shopping habits don’t help and I am trying to change that. My student loans come due in January and I’m dreading that. As of right now, my payments would be approximately $400 a month. I can barely pay my bills now; I have no idea where that money will come from. I’m toying with the idea of going back to school. I’ve got a few months to figure it out, but that is one thing that’s weighing on me.

I know that in the grand scheme of things, my problems are minuscule. I see real problems daily. But my problems are my problems and somehow I have to find the strength and the courage to seek out the answers.

Leave a Reply

